Native Front Yard

TurfGrass

Floodwaters moved my log borders, which my plant markers were attached to. I don't remember what I planted where, so reidentifying as they grow. And most of them are indeed growing.

The blanket flower is even blooming a little.

A many-petaled flower with a red center, orangey yellow around the edges.

Read more...

The false spring continues and may turn out to be a real spring after all. Been holding off on gardening because I expect one last freeze. The American beautyberrys have not budded out so I think they agree. Nonetheless, the non-native weeds and some of the prolific native ground covers have taken all the rain and turned it into explosive growth.

Sigh. I have to weed eat today.

I yearn for that future date when my lawn has become a garden. So much work still to get there.

#spring #AmericanBeautyBerry #TurfGrass

On second thought, the grass that's springing up again in the native section is most noticeably not sprouting in the border areas that are dedicated exclusively to St. Augustine, so maybe that's not what it is. It grew quite confidently in the cold until last week's very hard freeze. Now it is severely wilted. Whereas the St. Augustine is simply brown.

When it next comes back strong, I'll have to make a proper ID.

#TurfGrass #StAugustine