Wood Slices

Two slices of oak tree, each cut into two semicircles apiece.

I cut these slices of logs with the intention of cutting a hollow in the middle, making a ring to go around my fragile saplings. However, this oakwood is freaking hard. Even with a baby chainsaw, it was taking a lot of time and effort just to slice.

A small hollow log.

Then I remembered that several of my logs are hollow. I cut a few slices much more easily of those. After I got the rings in place, though, I realized that the hollowness might be due to a disease that I am now passing on to my American plums and my button bush. I really hope not. I hope it was oak specific.

Baby button bush sticking up through a slice of hollow log.

American plum sapling with several branches sticking up through a slice of hollow log.

American plum sapling that's nothing but stem sticking up through a slice of hollow log.

July 09, 2023