tarp and retarp

Ranch style house with a big blue tarp on the ground in front of it; under the tarp is a big lump and on top, an upside down wheelbarrow.

I forgot to get a picture of the pile of gravel when it came. Imagine a big orange pile of clayish sand with lots of chunks. It's called crushed wash gravel and I may come to regret it.

The delivery truck dumped the pile entirely on the tarp and not at all on the landscaping fabric. Sigh. The pile wound up way too close to the far edges of the tarp, meaning that tonight's rain would probably wash it right down into the green area.

No go.

I tried raking and shoveling the pile in the direction I wanted it to slide, but I wasn't getting very far. And I was exhausted already from yesterday.

So I went to get more tarps. Two, just in case, but one turned out to be sufficient. I folded up the edges of the bottom tarp and staked the top one firmly, then anchored it down with stuff. Fingers crossed that this works.